Cool stuff

I have been finding so many great tools tonight, and not through online searches.  Those don’t necessarily always take me where I hope to go, partly because I don’t know what kind of search terms to enter — or even what questions to ask.  This evening, I ended up going down a (really good) rabbit hole after reading today’s xkcd webcomic (“A Webcomic of Romance, Sarcasm, Math, and Language”).  As I often do when checking in with xkcd, I encountered a term I don’t know (“DRM”), looked it up on wikipedia (it stands for “Digital Rights Management”) and had suddenly found a set of terms describing a whole range of intellectual and aesthetic property issues I think are interesting and important.

The xkcd comic also sent me to a site called Free Culture News, and from there I found tons of great links and tools and resources, only some of which I’ve had a chance to explore so far.

Particularly interesting for our purposes, though, is the Free Software Directory with pages for games and education.  In particular, I noticed a few different links to tools, programs, platforms, whatevers for designing your own games.  Sweet!

I also came across an Online Educational Resource (OER) Handbook for educators on WikiEducator.  Among other things, it has a whole page of search engines for OERs.  Double sweet!

2 Responses to Cool stuff

  1. avaerickson says:

    Lisa, Thanks for all the great resources! I will check those out–especially the Free Software Directory and OER Handbook. I’m familiar with xkcd and in fact used one of his particularly mathy comics in class (see http://xkcd.com/231/).

  2. ditto.

    DRM is certainly an interesting topic; there are so many intense opinions on the subject! Again, I see that native/non-native divide on the subjects of copyright, authorship, ownership etc. I especially think the militant freedom mentality is interesting: those who claim a moral right to free software. As I’ve mentioned before, it will be fascinating to see how these ideas shift as the native generation becomes adults and is socially legitimized.

Leave a Reply

